In Krasnoyarsk, there is a unique natural reserve “Krasnoyarsk Pillars“, founded in 1925. There is a deep caves, cliffs reaching almost 100 meters in height, and age of some rocks over 600 million years.
Krasnoyarsk pillars climbers are at home here and some even build huts among the rocks. The first one was built on a hillside next to the third pillar in 1892. These hospitable huts quickly became centres for socialising. It was then that the first pillar climbing customs were instituted: hospitality, solidarity, and friendship. In the spring of 1906, gendarmes burned down the first rock climbing hut as it was presumed to be a meeting place for revolutionary-minded young people. Approximately at that time, a huge sign with the inscription ‘Freedom,’ appeared on one of the rocks. Much water has gone under the bridge since then, but this inscription has been constantly renewed by old-timers to this day. Real pillar climbers remain true to tradition: initial actions were established, and after the failure of the first little hut, shelters started to appear among the rocks like mushrooms after a rainfall. The surroundings are always clean and tidy: this is a unique place, and everyone understands certain customs here. Despite the fact that each hut is run by a host, guests are always welcome and accommodation will not be refused. This is also a rule here.
Reserve “Krasnoyarsk Pillars” in Winter: